Faith Leaping

As a young girl I never dreamt of dancing as a professional. But like I’ve mentioned in one of my first blog post, God has a way of PUSHING me through things. Not a bad thing, but very uncomfortable.

I was told many many times as a child that I was lazy and I would never make it as a dancer. Yup! My teachers actually stated that to me. They were honest. But I am now realizing how important words are. No matter how you really feel, what you speak can and will manifest! So that manifested in my life because I didn’t have anyone that cared enough to push me through instead of talk me down. Don’t get me wrong, I had very talented teachers that meant well. But at the time I was lazy, didn’t want to dance and it showed. That lasted up until my senior year of High School.

I was dancing with a company in Miami, Florida named Addiction Dance Company under the Direction of Traci Young. While dancing with her I attended New World School of the Arts High School for dance. Now, NWSA was all technique and not so much of finding myself as a dancer. However, dancing with ADC brought out a-whole-nother dancer that I didn’t even know was in me. But Mrs. Traci Young-Byron is gifted in the art of pulling out the best dancer of yourself and that’s exactly what she did! She has a hashtag on Instagram #DesignedByGodTouchedBySupa. Well, she didn’t go by Supa back then but if she had, that hashtag would stand true even then! When you were touched by her YOU WERE ABLE TO SEE YOUR TRUE POTENTIAL AND MORE! I miss dancing with and for her company! ..sigh .. Enough of walking down memory lane though haha

But then after graduation something in me didn’t want to dance anymore. Don’t ask why, I just didn’t. Looking back I believe it was a trick of the enemy! So I went off to University of South Florida and majored in business but ended up working in the dance department. Let me tell you something, God has a way of keeping you where He wants you to be. So I worked there and auditioned to be in the Fall concert. And guess who got picked to be in the best teacher’s piece? ME .. not bragging, just felt accomplished and still do when I think about it. People would always tell me he never picked dancers who weren’t dance majors. They would say “Foley?! You’re in Foley’s piece?! And you’re not a dance major?!” Yup, your girl has some skills. And I sincerely enjoyed dancing. But then stopped again. And that was my pattern. I would start then stop to start again and so forth.

After that I became a dance major but in my heart I didn’t feel like I should do that. So I dropped out of school and began working full time. I worked about 3 jobs at once just to feel fulfilled. I worked at a theme park named Busch Gardens as a photo sales clerk for 2yrs. Then one day I saw it. A dancer! I was shocked but something came alive in me. After that I did everything I could to find out about the entertainment department. Finally found someone that could give me answers and I started putting in work. I auditioned 3 times before they actually called me and I ended up dancing there for 6yrs. I’ll tell that story maybe another time. But yeah I grew to love dance. Well performing. People would ask me to teach for them but I was too shy and intimidated to teach anyone. But my older sister had a company and I would teach for her. She was the only one! Until .. September 2017.

Feels like God pushed me into a corner and bullied me into it. Haha only kidding! Kind of! I had just given birth to my son and after that I felt empty. I was sad and aloof majority of the time. I was applying to jobs and everything was a NO. NO! I was angry! Very! But then I started looking for dance teacher positions and they started calling me. I was interviewed and basically given the jobs on the spot. But it came down to me picking one because they conflicted in times. So I finally chose and I am now a Ballet instructor in Miami Lakes. God is so unreal sometimes! And guess who is actually enjoying themselves?! Me. Me!

I’ve also been offered and accepted a couple of more teaching positions that I am beyond excited about. I can’t even believe I’m writing about my excitement of teaching dance. But anyhoo, I wrote all of that to say this ..

TAKE THE LEAP!

TAKE THE LEAP!

TRUST GOD!

And SOAR!

Published by wytrinalynelle

Hey, my name WyTrina but most just call me Trina. I am a daughter, sister, mother, friend, mentor and coach. I enjoy all things strengthening my relationship with God, myself and others as I teach others to do the same. I am a certified relationship coach and mentor. My goal is to be able to reach people all over the world to help them build a better relationship with God, themselves and others. It takes trust, vulnerability, and faith to press on in all these relationships and that is exactly what I desire to showcase to you all through my writings. Welcome to my journey and brace yourself to embrace your own.

Leave a comment